in-depth review: the New iPad and iOS 5.1

Apple

AppleInsider has published a nice, extended in-depth review of the “new” 2012 iPad from Apple.

iPad vs iPad w. Retina Display

Here’s the sum of their review:

Pros:

  • Beautiful Retina Display screen looks amazing
  • Faster quad core graphics; 1080p movies, video and AirPlay Mirroring support
  • Strong, clean, attractive design; works with existing Smart Cover and accessories
  • Fast 802.11n wireless networking, 4G LTE data options, exceptional battery life
  • New iCloud, iOS 5.1 features make new iPad easy to use without a PC
  • Improved hardware and 4G options same price as iPad 2 was, added Personal Hotspot
  • FaceTime video conferencing & much improved iSight camera for video, photos
  • Low cost new iPhoto, iMovie and iWork apps make iPad a strong productivity tool
  • Most popular tablet platform with the largest third party selection of apps by far

Cons:

  • iOS’ simplified interface means a variety of desktop features are not available
  • No LED flash or HDR camera options, missing quick lock screen camera access

Just two cons in a really in-depth review – to me – seems an amazing result.
Probably I’ll get one as a present for my wife next month… we will see.

One thought on “in-depth review: the New iPad and iOS 5.1

  1. My family and I have the first, second and third generation iPads, and I like it a lot. I have the white LTE version, and gave my first one to the kids to play games on. We noticed that the new iPad isn’t a real upgrade from the iPad 2, but it is for the original! The app that we use most on the iPads is the DISH Remote Access app, which will stream live TV and recorded shows from the Hopper we have in our living room to any iPad HD. I usually stream while I’m on lunch at DISH where I work. The Retina Display makes high definition shows and movies look gorgeous. I say if your budget permits to get one.

Leave a Reply

