feelings about SuSE / Novell

Recently a lot of noise has come from some articles on a famous e-zine.

Strong comments have come from our pals at Planet SuSE and on SuSE / openSUSE mailing list.

Still, like Liquidat’s have staten, one can feel a growing and bugging feeling coming on …. the “hi-market” strategy taking decisions on us users, specifically susers😉. So, now i’ll try to extend something I said commenting Liquidat’s post.

Hi there ! You give me too much credit😉 I’m absolutely not an expert, but i DO read a lot.

    Kubuntu: never tried it, but I heard it has grown very well. Nothing more on this subject. The only thing i can assure anyone is that they have build up a strong community, a huge amount of how-to’s, they’re planning to slow down the relase schedule @1 year (like any other distro out there, excluding Fedora), and that apt/synaptic combo is a real good one;
    Mandriva: I’m hearing some good reviews, a friend of mine uses it regularly on any kind of machine he manages, and they are spendingo some money to stay in business … I tend to to support them, I think that french nationalism will keep it the european distro. From a security point I hear a lot has changed, and they are keeping both DE on development, and still they are prone to have a newer KDE than Gnome (see the fact that gnome 2.12 has been released very recently and only to club members). An italian friend keep a daily journal on his Cooker machines.
    kde-redhat: ok, I am willing to admit they have a good project goig there. But what i don’t like about Fedora is the repository hell ….ok, one can remove Livna and live happily … but there has to be a stronger control on this external people, let’s hope that the RPMforge project will grow soon. Oh, the system-config-* tools are GTK based, like you said on Mandriva, or did I misunderstood that ?
    KDE development: Simply I don’t follow it so I don’t have nothing to say.

So, I’ll remaing loyal with openSUSE, right now I was on the point to erase windows on my laptop to make more room on it …. and I hope that in the next six months a real community will grow around that wiki ….

2 thoughts on “feelings about SuSE / Novell

  1. Hm…ok, I personally never went into any dependency hell with Fedora because I stayed on the official side, livna and extras (although livna is officially unofficial, but has the packages extras is not allowed to have).
    RPMforge is on the other side, and from my point of view (!) it’s their fault mainly because they never wanted to join extras, which is the official repository for community packages.

    And yes, the mandriva drake tools are on a gtk/Python base.
    And, finally, as you maybe now: I do not really like apt, because I think that yum or smart is far superior (it starts with the ability to use mirrors…).

    But anyway, like you I will first stay with OpenSuse – and, if they are able to provide a good platform for community involvements, and if they are able to build a strong community around it, there will be eenough KDE-loving people (like me🙂 ) to provide a good KDE feeling.

    Thx for your post, was nice to read!

    liquidat

    Like

Leave a Reply

