What’s going on here ?

Well, first of all a new job, with unpredictable time schedule, plus some other new job talks to reach a decent overall monthly incoming. Let’s hope the talks in the next week will be “profitable” … one nice thing is that i’ve convinced my boss to wipe out that old Windows Millenium pc (which now has been added to the network) in favour of Ubuntu!

On the IT side of my life everything is going smoothly ….

Ubuntu 6.06.1 is doing extremely well on my old Pentium3 home server, no beagle – sorry, it eats too much CPU power – or fancy / shiny desktop effects – I’ve got the first Radeon VIVO videocard – but rock stable file/print server uptimes. Also i do not only plan to upgrade to the next Edgy Eft on this machine (given the Long Term Support policy).

macbook keyboard The MacBook is doing well, this week i’ve got the first annoyances given some problems in my wireless connectivity ….

I had got to switch form a WPA-PSK + AES encryption to a TKIP one (because the Nokia N80 only supports this), and this has proven to be more suscettible to external interferences, so with i’ve found myself with Finder, copying files over my LAN and the MacBook suddenly looses the connection and struggles to recover .. unsuccessfully😦

My Windows laptop for now is resting (after 3 intense years of 16 hours a day work and having travelled a lot). I am preparing (slowly) it for my girlfriend’s CAD utilization and to test the new Edgy or Fedora Core 6 releases that are coming out in the next months …

Technorati Tags , ,

Leave a Reply

