damaged Apple MacBook’s power cord

Apple, Hardware

If you are a nomad and heavy Apple’s MacBook user nomade del MacBook like me I suggest you to watch out for the power cord handling and maintenance.

You could find yourself in a situation like mine, after only 18 months from buying it, which is perfectly showed on the image down here:

damaged Apple MacBook's power cord - on Flickr

Luckily, thanks to Arturo, a colleague from another institute at work, I’ve managed to resolve the crisis with a quick repair session in their lab, letting me save the 89 euros needed to buy a brand new power adapter (and cord) !!

The power adapter is “glued” so one cannot easily open it and then close at repair’s finishing, so I’ve suggested Arturo to work on the cable. The result of his work is shown down here:

repaired MacBook power cord

I cannot help but I’m a bit mad with Apple, since I have 4 other laptops at home which are still at work after 4 or 5 years of intensive use and do not show a consumption like that on such a vital thing for a laptop!

Also I’ve discovered a dedicated documentation article in Apple’s doc pages called “reducing cable strain on your MagSafe power adapter” so to me it’s clear they’re somewhat prepared to such issue arising.

So beware !
{and read the article to be warned and instructed on how to store your power cord! … sigh! }

5 thoughts on “damaged Apple MacBook’s power cord

  1. Hey, the exact same thing happen to me as well… can you explain me how did you manage to fix it? A small tutorial? I appreciate…..

    Like

    1. Jaycee hi!

      I was diggin’ into Apple Support site since last year it came out a Knowledge Base article telling that some MacBook models to be “defected” in the cable ribbon so that you could call them and organize a substitution as I did AFTER writing this post you’ve commented.

      Start from this article: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1630 and search more for magsafe …

      Like

Leave a Reply

