replacement of a broken MagSafe

Apple, Hardware

Hi there !

A year ago I told you about my problems with the premature consumption of the white insulation of my MacBook’s MagSafe power cord which:

Under continued use, the cable may discolor and the rubber molding may become deformed.

In the late september of this year a friend of mine, welcoming me back from my South African’ honeymoon travel pointed me to a BULLETTIN from Apple.

Troubleshooting MagSafe power adapter strain relief issues.

Here I read the happy novel:

Whether your product is in or out-of-warranty, you can take your adapter (you don’t need to take the computer, however, please do bring the computer’s serial number) to an Apple-Authorized Service Provider or Apple Retail Store for evaluation and replacement if necessary.

First I called my local Apple reseller (a Solution Expert center) which told me that 90% of the time when the damage is really near to the power adapter INSTEAD of being near the MagSafe Apple did not recorgnize the substitution.

So, perplexed, I called the italian support which made me talk with the second level support in Ireland, I’ve explained everything again – also pointing the solution show in the post linked above – and in 3 days I had both the power cord replaced and mine tuned back to Apple with no other expence than the call.

Obviously the Apple techician asked me the serial number of the adaptor, checking it with a list of recorgnized “faulty” models.

In the end all’s well that ends well

P.S. = with a bitter taste in mouth, purchased the 3rd july 2006 so far the MacBook has a replaced hard drive, a replaced power adaptor and a lightly yellow case ….

One thought on “replacement of a broken MagSafe

Leave a Reply

