solutions of a Gnome desktop showing the contents of home folder

FLOSS

After a quite painful restore procedure of my files from a Fedora 12 reinstallation (I needed to clean up better before backup) I found my (Gnome) desktop showing the content of my home folder.

A quick Google search and I’ve found the solution:

nano ~/.config/user-dirs.dirs

Here you can modify various “line” and behaviours, the one we need the most is:

XDG_DESKTOP_DIR="$HOME"

Cheers, kOoLiNuS!

Posted via web from take five

Leave a Reply

