What files are provided by $package.rpm?

CentOS, Fedora, Red Hat

Today I needed to install the openMPI package on a development machine, and occurred to me to know if by installing it the system’s GCC (and similar). So asked my friend Gianluca an hand and he pointed me to the repoquery command.

So I did the following:

yum whatprovides "*/repoquery"

which gived to me:

yum-utils-1.1.16-14.el5.centos.1.noarch : Utilities based around the yum package manager
Repo : base
Matched from:
Filename : /usr/bin/repoquery

so I did a simple:

yum install yum-utils

followed by a:

repoquery -ql openmpi-devel.x86_64

… and I obtained the needed infos. Thanks Gianluca!

Leave a Reply

