designing User Interfaces for Your Mother

on the Web

It happens about once or twice a year. I travel over to my mother’s house for a visit and, about two or three hours in, she says something like:

Hey, can you take a look at my computer? I just want to make sure everything is okay with it. You know I don’t know what I’m doing.

She’s right. She doesn’t know what she’s doing. She wants to, though.

And that’s what brings her and millions of people like her to the websites we create every day. They fumble frustratedly through signup forms, hidden gestures, and confusing interfaces. As designers and developers, it’s our responsibility to make our websites not only useable, but enjoyable enough to come back to again and again.

Here are a few things I try to keep in mind about my mother when I’m designing a new website or interface

An interesting read by Tony Gines on the pages of Medium: designing User Interfaces for Your Mother. I personally think that this kind “goal” in the design process, should be extended to everything we build.

Leave a Reply

