How I fell into the rabbit hole: life and work at the distributed wonderland

Life

GREAT stuff, Luca. Thanks for sharing with us…

Luca Sartoni

In 2001, I was 21 years old and had just started freelancing. Like many of us, it fell into my lap: someone asked me to make their website and so it went.

When I started, I had no clue how to run my business. So I did what I thought was right: I copied everything other people in the market were doing.

I made a stamp, business cards, templates for my business stationery. I bought a paper pad and a nice pen to take notes. I remember once I spent four hours refining my hourly rate with a friend. I had a multi-tiered system according to how many hours of service were required and so on.

I used the stamp maybe once, I haven’t printed a single paper invoice since then and every single client was treated as an exception, so the hourly rate never applied, the way it was…

View original post 1,664 more words

Leave a Reply

