a real BIG problem with iOS Health apps

Since last December I’m an owner of a brand new iPhone 6. Coming from an iPhone 5 I’ve finally encountered the benefits of the M8 movement coprocessor and started to use (again) Moves, Breeze and the bundled iOS Health app. After a couple of weeks’ usage, since I had forgotten my restriction unlock code, and after having shot a lot of christmas photos with my family, I’ve decided to clean things up and reset my iPhone and start clean removing old and unused app, with fresh music and photo library and … discovered a completely missing 15 days of personal dataset previously saved inside the Health app but NOT synchronized over any “cloud” system whatsoever. iCloud included, where I was expecting they were waiting to be restored.

Personally I have enjoyed saving and then visualizing my health data on the device, monitoring how I am doing over the time with sleep, activity, blood pressure, heartbeats and such. But if this history is not kept / exportable / re-usable elsewhere then this health-kit API it’s only a commercial trick to sell stuff and not to build something that lasts. And Apple (or anybody else) doesn’t certainly need this when they convince us to me so thoroughly 24 hours a day…

Leave a Reply

