Academicons, a font icon set for academics

Academicons (20160406)

For working reasons I had to work on a project at work were for each researcher I had to link a ‘social’ profile, not on Facebook or other popular – consumer – networks, but for some specialized ones … like ReaserchGate, Google Scholar, Mendeley, etc.. If you’re into academics you know them. Here is Academicons

With a bit of luck I found a GitHub project by James Walsh, a post-doctoral researcher, were he made and collected a series of font icons – 100% compatible with the more famous FontAwesome that solved my need with few lines of code.

5 thoughts on “Academicons, a font icon set for academics

  1. I am trying to make this work on WordPress with plugins (e.g., Better Font Awesome, Font Awesome 4 Menus) because I am categorically opposed to creating and depending on child themes. If anyone has any advice on how to do that, please let me know.

    Like

    1. Here I am again Nick … this time at my PC.
      Having a Child Theme is THE way to go if you customize a template on WordPress.
      You can use a number of plugins (this is developed by a friend, usually I use Orbisius’ one

      In this way when the main theme gets an update all your modifications remains intact and you have no issue.
      For Academicons you have to DOWNLOAD the files, put the fonts and css folders somewhere on your web server, and then update the link given that path in the CSS file where you are enabling Font Awesome and Academicons.

      Like

  2. If you can, I don’t know how.

    I’ve tried adding some and all of Academicon CSS in “Appearance > Custom CSS” but it had no effect. I assumed that this was because I did not add “” in my page header. (I don’t edit theme files because the edits just get erased with every WordPress update).

    Like

Leave a Reply

